Fear and Hope

I’m currently at home, like most of us are…or should be. I’m watching Celebrity Ghost Stories and Kevin Pollack is talking about how his partner would seemingly become possessed and start speaking in tongues in her sleep. I really shouldn’t be watching this.

I’m not watching it because I’m bored or because I love horror and ghost stories (only stories!), which I do. I’m watching it because I need a distraction. I need something interesting enough to hold my attention and keep me from thinking about the surreal nightmare that is our reality. Am I being dramatic? Probably. Overly dramatic? No.

We’re dealing with a pandemic. A virus that is potentially fatal. As someone with ulcerative colitis who is on an immunosuppressant, I am scared. As someone with parents over age 65 and small nieces and nephews and family and friends who I love, I’m terrified.

I don’t think that everyone is taking this seriously and I think some people are being very selfish. If you don’t think it can kill you, know that it may kill someone else. Period. We all need to take measures to end this. What really gets me is that all we need to do is stay home. Stay the fuck home. Yes, we need to get groceries and prescriptions, but we don’t need to go out and buy a videogame. This is not the time to call up friends and have a picnic in the park. Idiots!

Now Scott Patterson is talking about a large, demonic bird coming after him. Why are these only B-rated celebrities? Are they the only ones who have paranormal experiences? Or are they the only ones willing to appear on the show? If you think I’m all over the place, welcome to my mind right now. I have to pull myself out of these dark, scary thoughts every so often otherwise they’ll find me months from now in my closet rocking back and forth hugging a tub of Lysol wipes. Okay, see? That’s overly dramatic. I’m still me, don’t worry.

I don’t normally watch the news and with what’s going on now, I really try to limit my intake of information. I only watch the news once a day, first thing in the morning so I know what’s happening. That’s it. If something else happens between that time, I know someone will tell me and that works for me.

Now Charmed is on. The original, not the weird remake. Does Alyssa Milano actually have a Buddhist tattoo next to her rosary tattoo? I’m trying to stay positive and not panic. It’s tricky, but prayer and faith help me. It always does. Talking to friends and family also helps. But mainly keeping my mind occupied with other things is what keeps me from panicking. Well, it’s what stops me from panicking. I’ve already had two random yet urgent and crampy trips to the bathroom in a week. I have to stay calm.

On a bright note, this may be the best time to binge all several seasons of Supernatural. Or GoT. No, I haven’t seen GoT! Get over it! Okay, Piper’s baby just killed someone by using magic. I’m done with this.

Here’s hoping and praying this all ends sooner rather than later. Stay safe, stay calm and stay positive, folks. ♥

Leave a comment